Choose Another Market:  
Back to Current News

Print this article

Hollyshorts Awards Over $26,000 in Prizes
(released 8/13/2007)

The 3rd Annual HollyShorts Film Festival came to a close last evening in Hollywood with top honors of Best Short going to "Songbird" Directed by John Thompson. Thompson was awarded a one week audio rental package courtesy of Action Audio and Visual, featuring sound and communications equipment rentals to utilize for his next film project.

The festival's awards ceremony and closing night reception took place at Vice Hollywood with music by Biz Markie. HollyShorts Film Festival sponsors provided this year's award winners with over $26,000 in product and service prizes, a festival record. The 57 short films in competition were under 30 minutes in length.

With 13 student short films in competition Der Ostwind Directed by Kohl Glass (BYU) with animation by Rob Au won a two-day studio rental package from Casablanca Studios in Palm Springs to shoot his next film.

The audience choice award for day 1 went to Phil Allocco's Joseph Henry. Audience choice for day 2 went to David Branin's Honey I'm Home, Alloco and Branin took home cash prizes and coverage courtesy of for their wins. The Stash Animation Award went to Michael Attardi's Once Upon A Christmas Village. Best Cinematography went to Tony West's Dartsville. West won a Showbiz Software Stores package worth over $1500.

The Dreamhouse Ensemble Best Drama Award went to Timothy Cahill's The Oates Valor. Jake White took home Best Documentary for his short film Downwinders: The People of Parowan. Best Narrative went to Aquarium Directed by Rob Meyer. Best Comedy was awarded to The Trainee, Directed by Craig Rosenthal.

The Best International went to Illegal Artists, for their short film 5:55. Best Actor- went to Charlie Weirauch for his performance in Wilbur. Best Actress went to Jessica James for her performance in Small Jeans. Both Best Actor and Actress award winners will receive profile stories courtesy of h Magazine. Best Thriller was awarded to Y Que Cumplas Muchos Mas Directed by David Alcalde.

The HollyShorts Future Filmmaker Award went to Director Justin Liberman and his short film Red Balloon.

All HollyShorts award winners also took home exclusive HollyShorts Celebrity Pop Art from Renowned Artist Nicolosi, complimentary UCLA Extension Entertainment studies courses and an exclusive line of Sand Jewelry by Therese.

The complete list of winners follows:

• Best Short Film - Songbird Directed by John Thompson
• Best Student – Der Ostwind Directed by Kohl Glass
• Best Cinematography – Dartsville Directed by Tony West
• Best Drama – The Oates Valor Directed by Timothy Cahill
• Best Documentary – Downwinders Directed by Jake White
• Best Animation – Once Upon A Christmas Village Directed by Michael Attardi
• Best Narrative – Aquarium Rob Meyer
• Best Comedy- The Trainee Directed by Craig Rosenthal
• Best International – 5:55 Directed by Illegal Artists
• Best Actor- Charlie Weirauch, Wilbur
• Best Actress- Jessica James, Small Jeans
• Best Thriller: Y Que Cumplas Muchos Mas Directed by David Alcalde
• Future Filmmaker Award: Director Justin Liberman, Red Balloon
• Audience Choice Day 1: Phil Allocco's Joseph Henry
• Audience Choice Day 2: David Branin's Honey I'm Home
• Honorable Mention: Sarah and Dee Directed by Karen Dee Carpenter
• Honorable Mention: Tell-Tale Directed by Jason Roberts
• Honorable Mention: Anonymous Directed by Cristian Pozo

digg this article Digg this article!     Green Room LA News Feed Subscribe